Boring Update of Boring-ness

Standard

Just wanted to thank everyone who’s checking in. Lots of things going on, most of which I cannot emote upon. Writing anonymously has its limitations.

Got a new book in the mail from Cindy Burrell, God is my Witness and spent a couple of days giving it the once over. Love her writing and love the way she looks to God’s heart in all things. I’m hoping to give a better review here in a day or so.

Spent much time putting in job applications. Call me old and cranky but I do not like this new method of shooting off an email to some nameless nobody and praying for a call. Put me in an interview and generally, I’m fine. But you- got- to- get- to- the- interview. One look at my resume and I’m toast. Something about a twenty year gap in work history might be just a tad off-putting to the kiddies who don’t know any better.

Anyhow, life moves on, kids grow up, I am thankful.

 

 

11 responses »

  1. Ah yes, the job search. You ought to try it after spending decades as a pastor. Maybe I could be a Wal-Mart greeter, but I don’t even go greet on Sundays at the back of the church sanctuary. Never did like that ceremony. I think you should think about a career in the burgeoning Christian comedy industry. We like your humor.

    • This sending the resume off into cyber-space is bad on the ol’ self esteem. I would be happy to do a nice little stand up in exchange for an interview but so far, no bites (with the exception of the cookie-baking interview, from which, i did not receive a call-back. Shocking, I know).

      I have no doubt the right opportunity will come along at the right time and the Lord will provide. He always does. I’m just feeling a little whiny this week and if I keep comforting myself with chocolates, I’ll be needing a new interview-worthy wardrobe.

      (Stupid chocolate rabbits. . .)

  2. That llama looks suspiciously like an alpaca. I had a few dozen alpacas in the two pieces of property next to mine a few years ago and hope to have some of my own one day.

    All the best to you in finding work. I was in that position myself in 2004, having not been in the paid workforce for about 14 years. I took a medical transcription course from home, though, and my past made zero difference as I got more work offers than I could handle.

  3. You guys are pretty dadgum funny yourselves, har, har.

    (Better not say ‘never’– the good Lord seems to take me up on that challenge on a regular and continuous basis 🙂 )

  4. Try doing some Google searches for resumes with gap in work history, or for resumes after staying at home or something like that. I know there are ways to fashion them so the gap isn’t glaring.
    Also, monster.com & careerbuilder.com have very helpful articles about the whole job search process, from resumes to job offers.
    And don’t get too discouraged–the economy really stinks right now, so it’s not you!

Leave a Reply

